top button
    Connect to us
      Facebook Login
      Site Registration Why to Join

    Most popular tags
    yoga meditation yoga for health healthcare diabetes benefits pregnancy yoga poses home remedies human body weight loss asanas food surya namaskar mindfulness fertility health ayurveda infertility type 2

What are the modes of Ayurvedic treatment?

+2 votes
posted Dec 19, 2018 by Syed Zubair

Share this question
Facebook Share Button Twitter Share Button Google+ Share Button LinkedIn Share Button Multiple Social Share Button

1 Answer

0 votes

There exist eight divisions of Ayurvedic therapeutics, namely Kayachikitsa (Internal medicine), Shalya (Surgery), Shakya (Otorhinolaryngology and Opthalmology), Kaur Bhritya (Paediatrics, Gynaecology and Obstetrics) Agad Tantra (Toxicology), Rasayana (Gerontology), Vajikaran (Aphrodisiacs) and Bhoot Vidya (Psychiatry).

The principles of treatment are Shodhan (purificatory), Shaman (palliative and conservative), Nidan parivarjan (avoidance of causative and precipitating factors of disease) and Pathya Vyavastha (do’s and don’ts regarding diets lifestyle). Shodhan therapy includes Vamana (medically induced emesis), Virechana (medically induced laxation), Vasti (medicated enema), shirovirechana (administration of medicines through the nose) and Raktmokshan (Blood letting). These therapeutic procedures are collectively known as Panchkarma. Before executing Panch karma treatment Snehan (olation) and Sweden (getting perspiration) are to employed first.

answer Dec 20, 2018 by M.s.prathiksha